Doomdee’s silly questions, Nicolas Gouny’s answers

Dd: Tell me a little bit about yourself, about your life.

My name is Nicolas Gouny. I was born in the mid-70. I’m father of three, and husband of one. I’m living in a charming place, center of France, among fields, trees and cows.

Dd: Where did you go to school, and what classes did you study? Did you engage in any formal art studies?

The fact is I never studied arts. I went to university for a long time, to study literature and economics.

Dd: What helped prepare you to become the artist that you are today?

I never imagined becoming an “artist”. Anyway, I became one and when I look back, I think some meetings and some friendships were determinant. I always was a bit more different than the others.

Dd: What tips do you have for those looking to illustrate as a career?

Time. Perseverance. Tenacity. Patience. Chance. And to have at least two fingers.


Dd Does it worth to be an artist nowadays?

Indeed, you choose your time.

Dd: How do you promote yourself?

I pass a lot of time on Internet, and I try to answer to everyone. Disappointedly, I’m more and more contacted. I try to keep some time to make my images and my books.


Dd: Why children illustrations?

I don’t draw specifically for children, I don’t choose to do that.

Dd: What is inspiring?

Tree, wind, birds, my kids, music.

Dd: Where do your influences lie?

In books and in my spirit.

Dd: When you illustrate a children’s book, who do you have in mind, the children or the client?

Neither of them. I just follow my ideas, and most of the time they’re both satisfied. I try to be honest and sincere.

Dd: Can you talk a little bit about how you develop your stories?

They mostly come as images, then I write some words on them, and I let my imagination finishes the work.

Dd: Do you believe in the necessity of fantasy in telling children’s stories?

No, if you speak of dragons and fairies or unicorns. I don’t know what the word is recovering in English, but in French “fantasy” means also the little joy of the days, the magic things inside the commons stuffs, and, in this sense, yes, I try and try.


Dd: What do you like more, trees, birds or dragons?

Birds.


Dd: What are your favorite children’s books and animations?

I’m fan of Miyazaki’s movies, as many people… but I’m very fond of all the new wave of movies for children.

For books, I love so many styles that’s it is hard to find one.

Dd: How do you meet a deadline when you are not in the mood for work?

I dislike deadlines a lot. I’m always in advance. I just work.

Dd:� How do you come up with your color schemes?

I experiment a lot, and it is easy with Photoshop to change colors.

Dd: What do you do to get new inspiration?

I just listen to myself.


Dd: What do you prefer, digital drawing or hand drawing?

I don’t draw a lot with my hand, but I’ve got a fascination for that. I’d like to find the time and the courage to improve my hands skill and train. But I love the freedom of digital forms.

Dd: What can you tell us about your latest books?

Actually, I’ve got two. They’re released today ^^. The first is Petit Pierre (Small Pierre), the story of a little guy raised by his mother, without dad. The second is Petit Rene (Small Rene), a little disabled boy. He adopted a unicorn and he loves stories.

They’re both exploring the tenderness and the courage of children.

Dd: Apart from making children’s books, what else do you do?

All the things in relation with illustrations. With my wife, we also make jewels with my images.


Dd: Finally, what are your next plans?

I’m working on three of four new books and for an advertisement for a big company. And many many (so many) other little things.

Dd: Where can we find you?

In english, [link]

In french, [link]

And I’ve got a shop, [link]


Merci beaucoup Nicolas!


1. Tell me a little bit about yourself, about your life.

My name is Nicolas Gouny. I was born in the mid-70. I’m father of three, and husband of one. I’m living in a charming place, center of France, among fields, trees and cows.

2. Where did you go to school, and what classes did you study? Did you engage in any formal art studies?

The fact is I never studied arts. I went to university for a long time, to study literature and economics.

3. What helped prepare you to become the artist that you are today?

I never imagined becoming an “artist”. Anyway, I became one and where I look back, I think some meetings and some friendships were determinant. I always was a bit more different than the others.

4. What tips do you have for those looking to illustrate as a career?

Time. Perseverance. Tenacity. Patience. Chance. And to have at least two fingers.

5. Does it worth to be an artist nowadays?

Indeed, you choose your time.

6. How do you promote yourself?

I pass a lot of time on Internet, and I try to answer to everyone. Disappointedly, I’m more and more contacted. I try to keep some time to make my images and my books.

7. Why children illustrations?

I don’t draw specifically for children, I don’t choose to do that.

8. What is inspiring?

Tree, wind, birds, my kids, music.

9. Where do your influences lie?

In books and in my spirit.

10. When you illustrate a children���s book, who do you have in mind, the children or the client?

Neither of them. I just follow my ideas, and most of the time they’re both satisfied. I try to be honest and sincere.

11. Can you talk a little bit about how you develop your stories?

They mostly come as images, then I write some words on them, and I let my imagination finishes the work.

12. Doyou believe in the necessity of fantasy in telling children’s stories?

No, if you speak of dragons and fairies or unicorns. I don’t know what the word is recovering in English, but in French “fantasy” means also the little joy of the days, the magic things inside the commons stuffs, and, in this sense, yes, I try and try.

13. What do you like more, trees, birds or dragons?

Birds.

14. What are your favorite children���s books and animations?

I’m fan of Miyazaki’s movies, as many people… but I’m very fond of all the new wave of movies for children.

For books, I love so many styles that’s it is hard to find one.

15. How do you meet a deadline when you���re not in the mood for work?

I dislike deadlines a lot. I’m always in advance. I just work.

16. How do you come up with your color schemes?

I experiment a lot, and it is easy with Photoshop to change colors.

17. What do you do to get new inspiration?

I just listen to myself.

18. What do you prefer, digital drawing or hand drawing?

I don’t draw a lot with my hand, but I’ve got a fascination for that. I’d like to find the time and the courage to improve my hands skill and train. But I love the freedom of digital forms.

19. What can you tell us about your latest books?

Actually, I’ve got two. They’re released today ^^. The first is Petit Pierre (Small Pierre), the story of a little guy raised by his mother, without dad. The second is Petit René (Small René), a little disabled boy. He adopted a unicorn and he loves stories.

They’re both exploring the tenderness and the courage of children.

20. Apart from making children���s books, what else do you do?

All the things in relation with illustrations. With my wife, we also make jewels with my images.

21. Finally, what are your next plans?

I’m working on three of four new books and for an advertisement for a big company. And many many (so many) other little things.

22. Where can we find you?

In english, [link]

In french, [link]

And I’ve got a shop, [link]

    • GIGI VALABILU GICONTE DE COLENTINA
    • June 4th, 2010

    SUPR INTERVIUL. FELICITARI

  1. That’s an all around amazingly written post.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

